Fire Authority

Tyne and Wear Fire and Rescue Authority is the publicly accountable body that oversees the policy and service delivery of fire and rescue services on behalf of the community.

The Authority:

  • formulates policies and principal objectives
  • approves the annual statement of internal control
  • makes, alters and revokes Standing Orders
  • determines the precept to be made
  • arranges the audit of accounts
  • prioritises capital schemes
  • determines members’ allowances
  • acquires land and buildings

Tyne and Wear Fire and Rescue Service leads the operational delivery of fire and rescue services such as public protection, fire and other emergency prevention, operation response and resilience.

The Fire Authority and the Service work closely together to help create the safest community.

Councillor Barry Curran, Fire Authority Chair
Councillor Barry Curran, Fire Authority Chair


The Authority has 17 members. 16 are elected members, nominated by the five constituent councils of Tyne and Wear in line with Schedule 10 of the Local Government Act 1985. The 17th member is the Police and Crime Commissioner for Northumbria.

The Authority has established a Governance Committee which seeks to promote and maintain high standards of conduct by members of the Fire Authority and to assist members to observe the Code of Conduct.

Any breaches of the code should be reported to the Monitoring Officer to the Fire Authority who is the Head of Legal Services at Sunderland City Council. They will determine whether the complaint should be investigated and if so by whom.

The Fire Authority’s Monitoring Officer maintains a register of interests of Fire Authority Members which the public may inspect by contacting the Monitoring Officer at the Civic Centre, Sunderland.

Subject to the Member’s consent, the public may also inspect the register of gifts and hospitality.

Member details

Constituent Authority Member name Political party
Gateshead Metropolitan Borough Council Councillor K. Dodds Labour
Councillor D. Duggan Liberal Democrats
Councillor G. Haley Labour
Newcastle City Council Councillor N. Forbes Labour
Councillor K. Kilgour Labour
Councillor H. Stephenson Labour
Councillor T. Woodwark Liberal Democrat
North Tyneside Metropolitan Borough Council Councillor C. Burdis Labour
Councillor J. L. L. Harrison Labour
Councillor B. Pickard Labour
South Tyneside Metropolitan Borough Council Councillor W. Flynn Labour
Councillor J. Perry Labour
Sunderland City Council Councillor R. Bell Labour
Councillor B. Curran (Chair) Labour
Councillor R. Oliver Conservative
Councillor A. Taylor Labour
Northumbria Police and Crime Commissioner Dame Vera Baird QC Labour


More information about each member is available on the Sunderland City Council website.